Group Picture in June 2012

Current members of the laboratory

Prof. Albert Demonceau

Albert Demonceau

Albert Demonceau is a Professor heading the Laboratory of Macromolecular Chemistry and Organic Catalysis at the University of Liege, Belgium. His main research interests lie in the field of transition metal mediated organic and polymer syntheses, and specifically the development of new ruthenium complexes for olefin metathesis, atom transfer radical addition, and atom transfer radical polymerisation. He is the author and coauthor of more than a hundred book chapters and scientific papers.

Telephone: +32 (0)4 366-3495

Prof. Lionel Delaude

Lionel Delaude

Lionel Delaude received his Ph.D. from the University of Liège, Belgium, under the supervision of Pierre Laszlo. After postdoctoral research at the University of Ottawa with Howard Alper and at Columbia University with Ronald Breslow, he returned to Liège where he is presently appointed as a Junior Professor within the Laboratory of Organometallic Chemistry and Homogeneous Catalysis. His current research interests focus on the design of new ruthenium-N-heterocyclic carbene complexes for catalytic applications.

Telephone: +32 (0)4 366-3496

Dr. Jean-Christophe Monbaliu

Jean-Christophe Monbaliu

Jean-Christophe M. Monbaliu obtained his Ph.D. in 2008 from the Université catholique de Louvain, Belgium. He then spent two years as a postdoctoral fellow with Christian Stevens at Ghent University, Belgium, before joining the Center for Heterocyclic Compounds headed by Alan Katritzky at the University of Florida. In 2012, he went on to study continuous drug manufacturing in flow reactors at the M.I.T. with Klavs Jensen. In 2013, he was appointed as a Lecturer at the University of Liège where his research interests revolve around organic synthesis and continuous processes (micro and mesofluidics).

Telephone: +32 (0)4 366-3510

Dr. Benjamin Dassonneville

Benjamin Dassonneville

Benajmin Dassonneville was born in 1982 in Armentières, France. After graduating in chemical engineering with a specialty in organic synthesis and process engineering from the Ecole Centrale de Marseille, he completed a Ph.D. in organic chemistry with Heiner Detert at the Gutenberg University in Mainz, Germany. Since July 2011, he joined the laboratory of catalysis as a postdoctoral fellow from the F.R.S.-FNRS

Telephone: +32 (0)4 366-3510

Mr. Morgan Hans

Morgan Hans

Morgan Hans was born in 1985 in Malmedy, Belgium. He received his B.Sc. degree in chemistry in 2007 and his M.Sc. in chemistry in 2009, both from the University of Liège. He is currently preparing a Ph.D. thesis on the synthesis of new zwitterionic adducts of N-heterocyclic carbenes and their catalytic applications, while serving as a teaching-assistant.

Telephone: +32 (0)4 366-3568

Ms. Nelly Tshibalonza Ntumba

Nelly Tshibalonza

Nelly Tshibalonza was born in 1983 in Kinshasa, Congo. She received her diploma degree in Chemistry in 2006 from the University of Kinshasa. She is currently a fellow of the Belgian Technical Cooperation and is preparing a Ph.D. thesis on the development of catalytic methods to enhance the value of renewable raw materials.

Telephone: +32 (0)4 366-3493

Former members of the laboratory

Dr. Xavier Sauvage

Current affiliation: Research scientist at INEOS, Belgium